Head of Church Mission Society to be next Bishop of Truro

Head of Church Mission Society to be next Bishop of Truro

It was announced on 30 August 2018 that HM the Queen has approved the nomination of Church Mission Society’s executive leader, Philip Mounstephen, as the next Bishop of Truro, tasked with overseeing the Diocese of Truro’s mission across Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly and two parishes in Devon.

Philip Mounstephen has led CMS since October 2012. During his time in post, CMS has invested more in mission in the UK context through the growth of its highly regarded Pioneer Mission Leadership Training programme and Partnership for Missional Church, while continuing to develop its historic global partnerships.

Speaking of his new appointment, Philip said, “I’m honoured and humbled to be asked to take on this role and am excited by the possibilities it offers.

“It’s been a huge honour to lead CMS for the past six years. It’s given me a privileged insight into what God is doing in his big wide world – and brought me into contact with some truly wonderful people. I have learned so much in the process; indeed part of my motivation in taking on this role is the sense that now is the time to put what I have learned about mission into practice.

“Cornwall is a wonderful place, with a rich Christian heritage. It also faces some major challenges. I have significant family roots there, so this does feel very right, and I’m looking forward very much to the challenges and opportunities ahead.”

CMS’s chair of trustees, Charles Clayton, commented: “The trustees and staff of Church Mission Society are thrilled to know that Philip has been chosen to be the next bishop of Truro, even though we will miss him dearly at CMS. Philip has contributed enormously to the success of the organisation, leading it expertly and in the process, serving the whole church in its mission. He will leave with our love and appreciation for his dedicated service and godly ministry.”

Canon Mounstephen will begin his new role early in 2019, following his consecration as Bishop on 30 November 2018.